after installation wrf-ems

Forum dedicated to older versions of EMS package (WRFEMS v3.2, v3.1 or older). Support is user-to-user based, so please help others if you can.
dominic
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:19 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by dominic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:20 pm

meteoadriatic wrote:First:

Code: Select all

ems_prep -dset gfsptile -length 24
Then:

Code: Select all

ems_run
You can't run domain if you didn't do ems_prep first. Or, use ems_autorun procedure that does all automatically.


practically tries to download the 12z run of gfs today which of course is not yet available

how do I download the data from the 06Z run?

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1600
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by meteoadriatic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:36 pm

Your system clock is probably incorect. Use UTC as your system time if you don't.
dominic wrote:how do I download the data from the 06Z run?
You can force 06z data with

Code: Select all

ems_prep -dset gfsptile -length 24 --cycle 06

dominic
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:19 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by dominic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:25 pm

perfect! is in fact the time was busted

I have now run the run, and the next step ems_post


how do I now convert the run for grads?

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1600
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by meteoadriatic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:45 pm

dominic wrote:I have now run the run, and the next step ems_post
how do I now convert the run for grads?
Please, see Chapter 9 of user guide:
http://strc.comet.ucar.edu/software/new ... pter09.pdf

dominic
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:19 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by dominic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:54 pm

Thanks meteoadriatic, I solved looking at the guide :)

I made my first run!, Nice!

to shorten a little time to run?

my car is an Intel Quad Core 3.0 ghz.



If you like do I download data from the server nomads?
Last edited by dominic on Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dominic
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:19 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by dominic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:59 pm

meteoadriatic you how many grid points do you recommend? and what resolution to run a minimum of 24/48 hours in an acceptable time?

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1600
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by meteoadriatic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:35 pm

Hi, you can make run faster by setting NMM run instead of ARW, by lowering horizontal or vertical resolution, by making smaller domain or by changing to less computationally intense physical schemes...

I recommend not using nomads servers. Just use those from strc as they are default. Nomads aren't reliable enough.

Use at least 100x100 grid points in your domains. Keep in mind this rule - the bigger domain, the less boundary errors inside it. Keep your area of interest as much away from domain borders.

dominic
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:19 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by dominic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:41 pm

Very interesting!

I'm trying now to run 9.2 km and it took 1 hour and a half to 24 hours of run. the domain

the grid point distance will be an 8km.

how do you use NMM instead of ARW? is affidabbile as a model?

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1600
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by meteoadriatic » Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:20 pm

dominic wrote:how do you use NMM instead of ARW? is affidabbile as a model?
See here:
http://strc.comet.ucar.edu/software/new ... pter05.pdf

I think it is really time to read whole user guide. I know it is time consuming job but you will never get good in this unless you do it.

dominic
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:19 am

Re: after installation wrf-ems

Post by dominic » Sat Apr 13, 2013 7:44 am

Perfect I knew how to do.

But you can make a run at 1km with WRF NMM? or you have to do necessarily with ARW?

Post Reply